Outgoing Governors, State Lawmakers to get N2.06bn Severance Package

A new Punch report has disclosed that 14 state governors, their deputies, and 434 state lawmakers who will not be returning to government will be getting N2.06bn as severance package.
The governors include Rochas Okorocha of Imo, and Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara, who are concluding their second terms in office.
Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos who lost his party’s nomination bid, Bindow Jibrilla of Adamawa and Mohammed Abubakar of Bauchi who lost their reelection campaign are also included.
The report stated:
Going by a template obtained from the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission, each of the governors will get a total of N6.67m as severance allowance. Each of their deputies will receive a total of N6.34m as severance allowance at the end of their tenures on May 29,” Punch reports.
This means that the 14 governors and their deputies will be going home with a total of N182.11m at the expiration of their tenures on May 29.
Investigation also showed that 434 state lawmakers spread across 27 states will be going home with a total of N1.88bn. Each state lawmaker is entitled to 300 per cent of their annual basic salary as severance allowance. This comes to N4.34m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *